Citizen McCaw

According to Jerry Roberts journalists are in the truth business, and some people would call that an idealist notion, but is truth not the fabric of journalism? I believe that truth is what journalism was created on, and it’s the world that has led to this contemporary news that’s full of bias and decrease in sensitivity and quality. It’s perfectly fine for a publication or broadcast to make money, without it they would not survive, but at what point to you look at what your presenting to the public instead of why you need to present something to the public. I think there is so much going on in the communities of our country that what is put in front of us seems like a joke. It’s as if no one actually took a minute to think, “are some of these stories really worth bringing to people’s attention.” I think that the model for news has changed which is changing the way new journalists look at reporting.

For one of my other classes I have to view a newscast from a different station in St. Louis and write about what I liked and disliked about what I saw. I’ve been disappointed every time I’ve sat down and written about the newscasts, and I realized why I don’t watch the news. It goes beyond the notion that the news is lying to you that’s to simple of a complaint. There were stories that weren’t newsworthy, were not even close to the tri-state area, and had no affect on us as a community. My very first impression of one of these newscasts was how political they made the technical aspects of the broadcast. These things, just like the content, is easily controllable and the same types of things are done in many newspapers. A piece of informational media should never carry the owner of the company’s bias with it.

Leave a comment