LUTV Blog Log #5

Introduction

This is one of the more interesting blogs in my opinion because of how the past few weeks have gone, and the things that I dealt with in those weeks during class. The class came back from spring break without missing a beat ready to go, and even without our beloved professor we put together two successful newscasts with minimal mishaps. It seems as if everyone is thinking the same thing as the semester is coming to a close, me being apart of the group, and it’s going to be odd not being around our class when it’s all said and done.

Free time is a commodity
Free time is a commodity

Sports and What Not

I will be the first to admit my favorite week is when I get to do sports. It’s the best week to try and get caught up on VO-SOTs and what have you, and I’m a multi-sports fan. Learning about the success Lindenwood programs are having and bringing teams into the newscast that people don’t hear about often is fun. Before this class I didn’t know how dominant Lindenwood’s synchronized swimming team or shotgun team was, but now I’m surprised I hadn’t heard about them earlier. I enjoyed bringing the roller hockey team some coverage and recognition, even though I think the head coach thinks my name is Mike, but hey if I can keep getting interviews with the guy he can call me whatever he wants. I’m not sure if I want to do radio broadcasts that are music based or sports shows, but next to being an anchor sports and weather week is the best practice that I get to develop my presentation skills.

A sportscaster...alone with his thoughts
A sportscaster…alone with his thoughts

The End of the Tunnel

Notice I didn’t say light at the end of the tunnel. Yes I can’t wait for summer who doesn’t love less responsibilities, but I will miss the news as odd as that is for me to say. I’ve had a lot of conversations that have subjects dealing with what everyone needs to complete before the semester is over. This hasn’t drastically affected the broadcasts, and I hope it stays that way, but as the weeks wind down the assignment spreadsheet still needs to be filled. I can’t say that package week is my favorite, be a long shot, but I understand that it is these projects that I can take with me when I leave Lindenwood. They are the best way to show creativity, and attention to detail when making something for a broadcast. I plan on being in radio, but video is becoming a part of the industry and showing that creative side could pay dividends in separating me from other job competitors.

I don't have an explanation for this face
I don’t have an explanation for this face

Conclusion

My conclusion is that I’ve had a lot of fun this semester. I am blessed to be able to be in an environment such as our news room, and appreciate it every time I walk into the studio. I have met some amazing people during the super semester, and have learned a lot about news broadcasts. I have new found skills that I can take with me to any profession, and even more confidence in the way I can present information to the masses. It’s been a good time.

Leave a comment